Skip to main content

Camas Elementary School


January is School Board Recognition Month

  This the month school districts and communities across the country are thanking the members of their school boards.  January is School Board Recognition Month.  Wapato joins the 295 school districts in the state in commending its board of directors for the time and effort they contribute for the betterment of the greater Wapato community. 
  The current Wapato School Board of Directors include Maria Erickson, Sarah Divina, Lori Garcia, John Francisco and Lorenzo Alvarado.  They are locally elected volunteers who serve 4-year terms.  
   Some of the main responsibilities of school boards are to set policy for the school district, approve district budgets and hire the superintendent.   The Wapato School Board conducts its regular business during the 21 public school board meetings scheduled over the course of a year.  In addition to the regular business meetings, board members give of their time for study sessions regarding matters of the district and to occasionally attend trainings that help hone their knowledge and skills as a school director.