Skip to main content

Camas Elementary School


School Board Recognized As Board of Distinction

  Congratulations to the Wapato School Board of Directors for earning the “Board of Distinction” recognition for the second year in a row from the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA).  Board members include President, Myron Yolo, Vice President, Maria Erickson, Javier Vela, John Francisco and Alan Taylor. The annual WSSDA Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demon­strate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards. The standards, developed and adopted by WSSDA in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement, and help close the opportunity gap. Award applicants submitted essays and supporting evidence to demonstrate how they are putting the stan­dards into practice.                                                         The Wapato Board’s selection as a Board of Distinction also puts it in the running to be chosen as one of the Boards of the Year in the State.  All of the Boards of Distinction honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon during the Annual WSSDA Conference November 16-19 in Bellevue.  During that luncheon is when the Boards of the Year winners will also be announced.